top of page
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmma Johnson

Tessa- Production Journal

Creating a rig for my original character Tessa, a unicorn centaur.


Checkpoint 2- Basic Blockout


So far, a low poly, simple basemesh has been made in Maya. This wasn't made with topology in mind, only to create the basic shapes. The next step will be to bring the model into Blender for sculpting!





Checkpoint 1- Project Proposal


This aim for the this project is to create a fully posable rig for my unicorn centaur character, Tessa. This is designed to be just a fun side project, so I don't have any strict time limits and am allowing myself to spend as much time as I need on each step to make sure I'm proud of the finished project. Additionally, I intend for this to be a test of my rigging abilities, as her body is quite unique and very different to what I've done in the past.





I've done several drawings of her in the past, slowly building up her character over time. For now, she is a happy, bubbly little centaur under the loving care of her older sister, Niem (the faun who has featured in several of my other projects). She spends her days playing in the forest, befriending the fawns that she and her sister babysit. I am yet to fully plan her story, but I imagine she will grow to be a powerful protector of the forest.




So far, I have created a turnaround to work off, as well as done several studies of foals to get a better understanding of their goofy anatomy. I am currently unsure of how I am going to the shirt. I'm thinking I will create the rest of the rig and then experiment with a few different methods to see what works best.




Her horse anatomy is largely inspired by a breed of horse called the akhal teke, a very lean but powerful horse that are known for their incredibly shiny coats. This build and distinct coat felt very fitting for a unicorn, and I hope to try and recreate this in her textures.




  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
bottom of page